If you find yourself managing a Facebook page where certain users regularly drop spam, abusive content, or inappropriate language it can be hard to keep up with them all. Sometimes deleting comments isn’t enough so hiding them can be a useful tool to avoid any fallout.
What happens when you hide a comment on FB Happens When You Hide a Comment on FB
Hiding a comment means that it is only visible to the person who wrote it and their friends. They will be able to see the comment and continue to reply in sub-comments but it will not show up on anyone else’s feed. It also stops notifications that Facebook sends regarding this specific comment thread.
The Ripple Effect: What Really Happens When You Hide a Comment on Facebook”
Unfortunately, the author will not be notified when you hide their comment so they may come back later and notice that their comment is hidden. This is why it’s important to only use this feature in cases where trolls, haters, or spammers have been driving down the quality of your posts and need to be silenced.
If you decide that hiding a comment is the best option for your page, you can easily unhide it later by visiting the comment and clicking on the three dots on the right-hand side to reveal the “unhide” option. It is also possible to delete or ban the user from your Facebook page if you choose to do so. It’s important to note that deleting comments and banning users will remove their ability to interact with your page in any way.